After another wildly successful year, the Blood in the Snow Canadian Film Festival capped off its week of Canadian horror last night with the 2019 BLOODIES AWARDS, with the presenting partnership of Hollywood Suite.

Alberta director Brandon Christensen came away big with his film Z, taking the awards for Best Feature, and Best Director.

DEAD DICKS took three awards including Best Screenplay, Best Actor for lead actor Heston Horwin, and the Montreal-based co-directors Chris Bavota and Lee Paul Springer were recognized as 2019’s Rising Stars.

The 2019 Vanguard award went to Toronto director Audrey Cummings, whose film SHE NEVER DIED was her third feature to screen at Blood in the Snow. The Vanguard award is presented in recognition of an individual or group who is a trailblazer in the independent Canadian horror industry. SHE NEVER DIED star Oluniké Adeliyi also received the award for Best Actress.

The award for best effects went to makeup effects artist Ryan Nicholson for PUPPET KILLER. Nicholson was a well known and loved fixture in the Vancouver film community, who passed away in October. In recognition for his outstanding contribution to the independent horror film community, starting in 2020 Blood in the Snow will rename this award the Ryan Nicholson Award for Best Makeup Visual Effects.

Blood in the Snow was made possible with the support of Telefilm and Ontario Creates, as well as the generous sponsorship from the Independent Production Fund, Hollywood Suite, McCam Insurance, William F. White, and Spacefy.


Best Feature: Z
Director: Brandon Christensen
Producers: Chris Ball, Brandon Christensen, Kurt Harder, Colin Minihan

Best Short: ROMI
Director: Robert Cuffley

Best Webseries: DEEP SIX
Director: Davin Lengyel

Best Director: Brandon Christiensen (Z)

Best Actress: Oluniké Adeleyi (SHE NEVER DIED)

Best Actor: Heston Horwin (DEAD DICKS)

Best Ensemble: HAPPY FACE
Cast of Happy Face

Best Screenplay: DEAD DICKS
Directors: Chris Bavota and Lee Paula Springer

Best Editing: Jeremy Lutter (GILTRUDE’S DWELLING)

Best Score: Hatiras (RAVEAGE)

Best Cinematography: Julian Garofalo (THE NIGHTS BEFORE CHRISTMAS)

Best FX: Ryan Nicholson (PUPPET KILLER)


Creators: Yasmina Ketita, Megan Stinson and Morgan Lander

Rising Star Award: Chris Bavota and Lee Paula Springer (DEAD DICKS)

Vanguard Award: Audrey Cummings (SHE NEVER DIED)


Avatar photo
Follow Me
Liked it? Take a second to support Shannon McGrew on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: